Nelson visited Monmouth twice during his tour with the Hamiltons in 1802. They stayed in the Beaufort Arms on both occasions and Nelson gave a patriotic speech there on the second visit.

The museum has a very impressive collection of Nelson relics and memorabillia, including his short, undress sword and the sword of Villeneuve and Gravina, Fanny Nelson's wedding ring, and many letters from her and Nelson. Must-see museum for any Nelson fan!

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.

    Author

    Hi there! I am second in command here at HMSH!
     My name is Rae-Rae and and I live in Worcestershire in the UK.
     I am a teen Nelson enthusiast and my passion has lasted since I was only nine- over seven years!
     I aim (rather ambitiously!) to rekindle the love of Nelson and his Navy for the younger generations and make him a well-known hero again. I want his memory never to fade!
     Please do check my YouTube channel for any Nelson-related videos, as I do post on there from time to time!

    http://www.youtube.com/raeraeandbunty/

    Archives

    November 2012
    October 2012
    September 2012
    August 2012
    July 2012
    June 2012

    Categories

    All