Picture
On the morning of Trafalgar, Nelson was found kneeling in his cabin, saying this prayer, which he also wrote down:

May the great God, whom I worship, grant to my country and for the benefit of Europe in general, a great and glorious victory: and may no misconduct, in any one, tarnish it: and may humanity after victory be the predominant feature in the British fleet.
For myself individually, I commit my life to Him who made me and may His blessing light upon my endeavours for serving my country faithfully.
To Him I resign myself and the just cause which is entrusted to me to defend.
Amen. Amen. Amen.

10/21/2012 01:56:54 pm

Hi, Rae-Rae!

Happy Trafalgar Day!!! Wow, you seem to have been busy on the blog on this auspicious occasion ;-)

As you know, I do find Lord Nelson's Trafalgar prayer most inspiring and beautifully written. It really is a precious slice of British heritage that should be reprinted often. Thumbs up to you for doing so!

By the way, nice new pic of yourself in the Napoleonic hat; Is that Lord Nelson's actual uniform your standing next to? Neat-oh!

God Bless,
Your American Friend,
Pearl of Tyburn

Reply
10/22/2012 04:26:19 am

Hiya Pearl!

Thanks so much for your comment!

Yes, I like the Trafalgar prayer too. It says so much about his character and his state of mind at the time of Trafalgar, which I find very moving.

Haha! I'm glad you my picture! It's not Nelson's actual uniform, but it's an exact replica- even down to point that the person who stitched it together was left handed- just like the person who stitched the real uniform!

Take Care!
Rae-Rae

Reply

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.

    Author

    Hi there! I am second in command here at HMSH!
     My name is Rae-Rae and and I live in Worcestershire in the UK.
     I am a teen Nelson enthusiast and my passion has lasted since I was only nine- over seven years!
     I aim (rather ambitiously!) to rekindle the love of Nelson and his Navy for the younger generations and make him a well-known hero again. I want his memory never to fade!
     Please do check my YouTube channel for any Nelson-related videos, as I do post on there from time to time!

    http://www.youtube.com/raeraeandbunty/

    Archives

    November 2012
    October 2012
    September 2012
    August 2012
    July 2012
    June 2012

    Categories

    All